Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 14th, 2010

As most of you read in my last post, our son-in-law spent from Friday night to Tuesday in the hospital for “semi-elective” surgery and his parents and Papa and Nan took turns taking care of the babies so Mommy could be his protector. For her version check it out at http://manysleeplessnights.wordpress.com

So now it is Thursday and the house is almost back to normal, laundry is pretty much caught up, dishes are washing as I type this.  The floor has been swept, still need to clean up the table, dust and all that other fun stuff that has to be done.  But for a while this morning, I just wanted to sit and listen to the calm.  You see, school starts back Monday and I am taking a math class (that the teacher says takes quite a bit of time) and environmental ethics.  Of course, I am excited about the ethics class, I have missed it the last two times it was offered because it filled up too quickly or I had other obligations I needed to take, mainly because this is my field of interest but it will be very interesting I think to see other people’s opinions and what they believe environmental ethics are.  I don’t want you to misunderstand, I do like math and will enjoy the class, I always find something interesting in classes, especially the teacher and students!

So while I am studying linear equations, factoring expressions and quadratic equations, I will be anxious to get to ethics.  One of the subjects we will discuss is animal ethics (hummm, may have to discuss Humane Society of the United States??  Pray for me if we do), are natural resources infinite, future generations, wilderness preservation, pacific timber.  And you wonder why I am excited, maybe you have to be an environmentalist to understand.  As I have said before, I am not a radical environmentalist, there are many little things we can do to protect the environment, recycle, reduce, reuse has been the slogan for many years (and we need to follow it, but it should be reduce, reuse, repurpose and recycle).  I could tell you many things to reduce our impact on the environment but that is another post for another day (possible as I work on ethics and tell you a little about that). 

BUT JUST FOR TODAY, I am going to enjoy puttering around the house, quietly listening to the radio, staying at home, cook my husband a good meal, tidying up a little more and letting the fall breeze blow through the house, giving it a fresh smell before the storm begins the next week with the much cooler weather they are predicting (high of 60s BURR!!) and class work begins.  Enjoy the beautiful weather today if you are in our neck of the woods (BTW, the leaves aren’t pretty here yet!), listen to the farm equipment running almost nonstop to feed our nation and the world, open your house and listen to nature if that is possible where you live.

Read Full Post »